如何办理外国驻华使领馆的文书认证

对于在中国生活过的中国公民或外国公民,在申请前往某些国家留学、移民、工作时,可能会被要求提供经目的地国家驻华使领馆认证的中国民事文书, 例如中国无犯罪记录证明、中国大学的毕业证、学历证等。 领事认证的目的是为了让中国出具的文书在其他国家得到认可。

使领馆认证又称“三级认证”或“双认证”。 认证过程分为这三步:(1)公证,(2)中国外交部认证,(3)外国驻华使领馆的认证。 更多有关领事认证、外交部认证、公证之间的关系,请点击这里这里查看我们的介绍。 本文将简要介绍如何办理各国驻华使领馆的民事文书认证。

本文内容仅作为参考, 具体情况要以政府有关单位的解释为准。

第1步:公证

去哪里申请?

办理公证必须去文书出具地的公证处, 且该公证处具有办理涉外公证的资质。 例如,北京当地大学出具的学位证就要到北京当地的公证处办理公证。 一个城市一般有多个公证处, 办理这种涉外公证建议前往经验丰富的主要公证处。 以北京、上海为例,这两地各自有十几个大大小小的涉外公证处,其中最规模比较大的是:

北京市方圆公证处
地址: 北京市东城区东水井胡同5号北京INN大厦3层 (点击查看谷歌地图谷歌地图百度地图
电话:+86.010.85197666
官网:https://bjfy.egongzheng.com/

上海市东方公证处
地址: 上海市静安区凤阳路598号(点击查看谷歌地图百度地图
电话:+86.0512.68083871
官网:https://www.sh-notary.org.cn/

需要提供哪些材料?

办理毕业证、学历证公证时,各地要求提供的材料基本一致,即:

  • 毕业证/学位证原件
  • 身份证复印件(中国公民)或当前有效护照复印件(外国公民)
  • 如果委托第三方代办,还需要提供授权委托书复印件

办理其他民事文书公证的,请咨询当地公证处。

办理外国人无犯罪记录证明的,请点击这里查看我们的指南。

审批时间是多久?

毕业证、学历证、无犯罪证明的公证审批时间一般是5~10个工作日。 其他民事文书公证请咨询当地公证处。

公证书样例

中国大学学位证公证书样例

无犯罪记录证明公证书样例

注:很多高校发给外国留学生的毕业证、学位证上面会显示其中文译名,即使留学生从未使用国该中文译名。 这可能会被一些国家政府看做是“曾用名”而造成法律上不必要的麻烦。 有些公证处会尊重当事人的选择,不在公证书上体现该中文译名,而只显示护照中的英文名字。但有的公证处要求必须即显示中文译名,又显示护照里的英文名。

第2步:中国外交部认证

去哪里申请?

可以受理中国外交部认证申请的机构在全国各地都有, 详细清单见于中国领事服务网。 但不是清单上任何一个机构都可以办理您需要的认证。 如何判断去哪一个机构办理中国外交部认证呢? 回答这个问题之前,我们要先了解一点有关使领馆的背景知识。

外国驻华的代表机构分为两类,即大使馆和领事馆, 这两者是有区别的。 领事馆就像大使馆的代表处。 大使馆均设在首都北京,而领事馆设在北京以外的其他一些城市,比如上海、广州、沈阳、成都等。 在提供领事服务这方面,大使馆和领事馆分别有自己特定的领事辖区(以下简称“领区”)。 以瑞士为例, 瑞士在中国大陆有一个大使馆和三个领事馆, 其中大使馆位于北京,三个领事馆分别位于广州、上海和成都。 以下是瑞士官网显示的驻华大使馆和三个领事馆的领区。

瑞士驻华大使馆
领区:黑龙江、吉林、辽宁、天津、北京、内蒙古、河北、河南、山西、山东、重庆、陕西、湖北、宁夏、甘肃、四川、贵州、云南、西藏、青海、新疆、蒙古国、朝鲜

瑞士驻广州总领事馆
领区:广东省,福建省,海南省,广西省,湖南省,江西省

瑞士驻上海总领事馆
领区:上海市、安徽、江苏、浙江省

瑞士驻成都总领事馆
领区:重庆市、四川省、云南省以及贵州省(注:“瑞士驻成都总领事馆辖区范围内的相关领事服务由瑞士驻华大使馆统一处理。” 也就是说,领事认证业务由瑞士驻华大使馆负责。)

领区和公证书的出具地决定了外交部认证去哪办。 一般可以分为两种情况。 (1)公证书的出具地属于某个领事馆的领区(注意不是大使馆),这种情况下必须交由当地政府外事办公室(以下简称“外办”)办理外交部认证; (2)公证书的出具地属于驻华大使馆的领区,这种情况下既可以交由该地(非北京)的外办办理,也可以交由“外交部委托在京文书领事认证代办机构”(即北京)办理。

让我们举两个例子,其中公证书需要经过瑞士领事馆或大使馆认证。 如果公证书在上海出具,且要办理瑞士的领事认证,则必须向上海外办申请外交部认证。 如果公证书在辽宁某地出具,同样要办理瑞士的领事认证,则既可以在辽宁当地外办办理,也可以在位于北京的“领事认证代办机构”办理。

需要提供哪些材料?

办理毕业证公证书、学历证公证书或无犯罪证明公证书的外交部认证时,一般只需要提供公证书的原件。 办理其他民事文书外交部认证时,请咨询负责受理认证申请的单位。

审批时间是多久?

外交部认证的审批时间相对固定, 平件是5个工作日,加急3个工作日。

中国外交部认证印章样例

第3步:外国驻华使领馆认证

去哪里申请?

负责认证您文书的驻华使领馆,其领区必须涵盖文书外交部认证单位所在地。 比如,一本经上海外事部门认证的文件,如果要办理瑞士领事认证,就要到瑞士驻上海总领事馆认证。

一般情况下,办理驻华使领馆认证这一步,即可以由北京的外交部或当地外办代办(额外收费服务),也可以由申请人自己前往使馆办理。 也就是说申请人本人不需要前往使领馆亲自办理领事认证。 而是由中国外交部在京办事处或当地外事办代为完成这一步。 有个别使领馆要求申请人必须自行递交而不能由外交部或当地外办代为递交。 还有个别领馆要求必须由外交部递交,而不能由申请人自己递交。

需要提供哪些材料?

各国驻华使领馆要求提供的材料有些许的差别, 具体可以咨询负责办理外交部认证的单位或直接联系办理领事认证的外国使领馆。 对于学位证、学历证、无犯罪证明来说,常见的申请材料是:

  • 经外交部认证的公证书原件
  • 身份证复印件(中国公民)或当前有效护照复印件(外国公民)
  • 有关办理领事认证目的的个人声明。 例如,办理瑞士使领馆认证的目的是用于申请瑞士工作签证。
  • 证明领事认证需求的官方通知。 例如,瑞士官方的电子邮件,内容是要求申请人办理有关文件的瑞士驻华使领馆认证。

审批时间是多久?

各国驻华使领馆的审批时间不一样, 最短的当天出证,最长的要20个工作日, 多数情况是10个工作日左右。 具体可参考中国领事服务网外国驻华使馆(代表处)领事认证规定汇编

经驻华使领馆领事认证的文书样例

经毛里求斯驻华大使馆认证的外国人学位证公证书样例

经瑞士驻华大使馆认证的外国人无犯罪证明公证书样例

各国驻华使领馆领事认证印章样例

  1. 奥地利
  2. 厄瓜多尔
  3. 埃塞俄比亚
  4. 以色列
  5. 马来西亚
  6. 毛里求斯
  7. 葡萄牙
  8. 韩国
  9. 瑞士
  10. 阿联酋
  11. 越南

我们的服务

我们致力于提供专业、便捷、高效的驻华使领馆文书认证代办服务。 如果您对我们的服务感兴趣,请点击下方按钮填写服务询价单。

发表评论

How to Get Documents Authenticated by Foreign Embassy/Consulate in China

Both Chinese citizens and foreign nationals who have lived in China may need to get China-issued civil documents authenticated by a foreign embassy/consulate in China for purposes of applying for study, immigration and work in the country which the embassy/consulate represents. China police certificates, China degree certificates and China graduation certificates are examples of common civil documents that need authentication. The purpose of consular authentication is to enable a document to be recognized in the country which the consulate/embassy represents.

Consular authentication is also known as “Double/Triple Authentication/Legalization”. The authentication process has three steps: (1) notarization, (2) authentication by China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA), and (3) authentication by a foreign embassy/consulate in China. For more information about the relationship between consular authentication, MFA authentication and notarization, please click here to view our brief introduction. In this article, we will explain the procedures and requirements for getting documents authenticated by Foreign Embassy/Consulate in China.

The information provided in this article is for reference only. Please inquire with relevant government agencies for details.

STEP 1: Notarization

Where to apply?

The notary application must be filed with a local notary office in the same city where the documents are issued. And the notary office must have qualifications to handle foreign-related notarization. For example, a degree certificate issued by a university in Beijing can only be notarized by a local notary office in Beijing. There are multiple notary offices in each city. It is recommended to go to the major notary office in the city that has the most experience dealing with this kind of notarization. In Beijing and Shanghai, for example, there are dozens of notary offices, among which these two are generally considered the most experienced.

Beijing Fangyuan Notary Public Office
Address: Dongcheng Qu, Dongshuijing Hutong 5 Hao Beijing INN Dasha 3 Ceng, Beijing (Click to view Google Maps or Baidu Maps.)
Phone: +86.010.85197666
Website: https://bjfy.egongzheng.com/

Shanghai Oriental Notary Public Office
Address: Jing’an Qu Fengyang Lu 598 Hao, Shanghai (Click to view Google Maps or Baidu Maps.)
Phone: +86.0512.68083871
Website: https://www.sh-notary.org.cn/

Required Documents?

For the notarization of graduation and degree certificates, the required documents are typically the same as follows:

  • Original graduation/degree certificate
  • ID card copy (for Chinese students) or current passport copy (for foreign students)
  • Power of attorney, if a third-party is appointed to handle the application.

For the notarization of other civil documents, please inquire with the local notary.

For the notarization of a foreigner’s China police certificate, please click here to view our guidance.

Processing Time?

Typically, it takes a notary office about 5 to 10 working days to process a notary application for a notarial degree/graduation certificate or a notarial police certificate. For notarization of other civil documents, please inquiry with local notary offices.

Sample Notarial Certificates

Sample Notarial China University Degree Certificate

Sample Notarial China Police Certificate

Note: A China graduation certificate or degree certificate issued to a foreign student may show his/her name in Chinese which is translated from her/her English name, even though the student has never used the Chinese name. The Chinese name may be considered by foreign governments as “other name used” causing unnecessary legal issues. Some notary offices allow applicants to choose whether to show the Chinese name in a notarial certificate, but the other notary officers may require that both the Chinese and English names be written in a notarial certificate.

STEP 2: Authentication by China’s MFA

Where to apply?

There are agencies across the country that are responsible for receiving applications for authentication by China’s MFA. A list of the agencies is posted on China Consular Service Website (in Chinese). However, not every agency on the list can handle your authentication application. You would need to figure out to which agency you should make the application. Before we answer this question, we would like first to give you a bit of background about consular affairs.

There are two kinds of foreign diplomatic missions in China, embassies and consulates. Many people would consider these two as the same, but they are actually not. Consulates are like representatives of embassies. All the embassies in China are located in Beijing, while all the consulates are located in other major cities, e.g. Shanghai, Guangzhou, Shenyang and Chengdu. In terms of consular authentication service, each embassy or consulate has its own consular jurisdiction. Take Switzerland as an example. Switzerland has one embassy and three consulates in China’s mainland. The Embassy of Switzerland in China is located in Beijing and its three consulates are located in Guangzhou, Shanghai and Chengdu. Below are the consular jurisdiction/districts of each Swiss Embassy and Consulate as shown on their official website.

Embassy of Switzerland in China
Consular district: Heilongjiang, Jilin, Liaoning, Tianjin, Beijing, Inner Mongolia, Hebei, Henan, Shanxi, Shandong, Chongqing, Shaanxi, Hubei, Ningxia, Gansu, Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Tibet (Xizang), Qinghai, Xinjiang plus Mongolei and North Korea

Consulate General of Switzerland in Guangzhou
Consular district: Guangdong, Fujian, Hainan, Guangxi, Hunan, Jiangxi

Consulate General of Switzerland in Shanghai
Consular district: Shanghai, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Anhui

Consulate General of Switzerland in Chengdu
Consular district: Chongqing, Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou (Note: “Relevant consular services within the jurisdiction of the Consulate General of Switzerland in Chengdu will be handled by the Embassy of Switzerland in China.” This means consular authentication service for these areas is handled by the Embassy of Switzerland in China.)

The consular jurisdiction and the place of issuance of your notarial certificate determine where you should apply for authentication by China’s MFA. When you think about where you should file the application, you can first think about which one of these two categories your circumstances fall into. (1) If the place of issuance of your notarial certificate is within the jurisdiction of a consulate (not an embassy), you should apply to the Foreign Affairs Office of the local government. (2) If the place of issuance of your notarial certificate is within the jurisdiction of an embassy, you can apply to either the local Foreign Affairs Office (except Beijing) or one of the “Document Authentication Agencies in Beijing Designated by China’s MFA” (only in Beijing).

Let’s take two examples in which a notarial certificate needs to be authenticated by a Swiss consulate or embassy. If the notarial certificate is issued in Shanghai, it must be submitted to Shanghai Foreign Affairs Office for authentication by China’s MFA. If the notarial certificate is issued in Shenyang of Liaoning Province, then it can be submitted to either a local Foreign Affairs Office in Shenyang or to a “Document Authentication Agency” in Beijing.

Required Documents?

When applying for China MFA’s authentication of a notarial degree/graduation certificate or a notarial police certificate, you are generally required to provide only the original notarial certificate. For MFA’s authentication of other civil documents, please inquire with the particular office where the authentication application will be filed.

Processing Time?

The processing time for China MFA’s authentication is always the same.  5 working days for routine service and 3 working days for expedited service.

Sample Authentication Stamp of China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs 

STEP 3: Authentication by Foreign Embassy/Consulate in China

Where to apply?

The embassy/consulate that authenticates your document must be the one having consular jurisdiction over the place where the China MFA authentication is performed. For example, if a document has been authenticated by Shanghai FAO and needs to be authenticated by a Swiss Consulate/Embassy in China, the document must be submitted to the Consulate General of Switzerland in Shanghai for consular authentication.

Generally, to file a consular authentication with a foreign embassy/consulate in China, the applicant can EITHER request the China MFA in Beijing or local FAOs to submit the application OR visit the embassy/consulate in person. This means an applicant does not need to appear in person at an embassy/consulate to deal with the consular authentication himself/herself. Instead, the China MFA in Beijing or local FAOs will take care of this step for an additional service fee. A few embassies/consulates require that the applicant must submit an application for consular authentication by himself/herself, meaning China MFA cannot submit it on behalf of the applicant. A few other embassies/consulates have the opposite requirement that they only accept applications submitted by China MFA.

Required documents?

The documents required by one country’s embassy/consulate can be slightly different from the documents required by another country’s embassy/consulate in China. For details, please inquire with the local FAO or China’s MFA office in Beijing which will help you with the authentication process or directly contact the foreign embassy/consulate that handles your consular authentication. For the consular authentication of a notarial graduation/ degree certificate or a notarial police certificate, the following documents are commonly required:

  • The original notarial certificate authenticated by China’s MFA
  • Your China ID card copy (for Chinese citizens) or current passport copy (for foreign nationals)
  • A personal statement regarding the purpose of consular authentication. For example, the purpose of Swiss consular authentication is in connection with an application for a Swiss work visa.
  • An official notice requesting consular authentication for a certain document. For example, an official email from a Swiss official requesting that the applicant get documents authenticated by a Swiss Consulate/Embassy in China.

Processing Time?

The processing time at different embassies/consulates in China may be different. It can be as short as a few hours and as long as 20 working days. On average, it takes about 10 working days. For more detailes, please refer to the Compilation of Consular Authentication Rules of Foreign Embassies (Representative Offices) in China (in Chinese).

Sample Documents Authenticated by Foreign Embassy/Consulate in China

Sample China University Degree Certificate Authenticated by the Embassy of Mauritius in China

Sample China Police Certificate Authenticated by the Embassy of Switzerland in China

Sample Authentication Stamps of Embassies/Consulates of Various Countries

  1. Austria
  2. Ecuador
  3. Ethiopia
  4. Israel
  5. Malaysia
  6. Mauritius
  7. Portugal
  8. South Korea
  9. Switzerland
  10. United Arab emirates
  11. Vietnam

Our Service

We are committed to providing professional, easy, and fast services for China document authentication by foreign embassies/consulates in China. If you are interested in hiring us, please click the below button to get started by filling in a quote request form.

Leave a Comment